Mailbag · Online Life

Knitting Spam Daily, Act II

Whoa! Been a while since I’ve been here. Sorry for falling into a black hole, but that’s me all over. 😉

Almost a year ago I mentioned that I felt the signal to noise ratio of IK emails was screwed. Being anal, I finally decided to test that feeling and here are the results of monitoring a month’s worth of emails from Knitting Daily for the period of March 19-April 19:

Of the 20 emails I received during this time, only five (5!) had practical knitting information and/or tips. The remaining emails were either outright advertisements for Interweave products or were more subtle “infomercials”, combining ads with text that refers to the ads.

Only 25% signal to 75% noise. Kind of mind boggling, don’t you think? If that were my ISP, I would have dropped them long ago. And, as a result, as of today I’ve unsubscribed to the email newsletter and replaced it with a subscription to Knitting Daily via RSS reader. In case you are interested in doing the same, here are the RSS feeds to:

Knitting Daily: http://www.knittingdaily.com/blogs/daily/rss.aspx

What’s on Sandi’s Needles: http://www.knittingdaily.com/blogs/needles/rss.aspx

Fire up your RSS reader and, although some of those infomercials get through, you’ll still get more knitting almost all of the time.

Share

3 thoughts on “Knitting Spam Daily, Act II

  1. TOTALLY AGREE! I got so tired of the worthless info in so many of the KD emails. As it was, I cancelled my subscription to the print magazine well over a year ago because there were more and more ads and fewer and fewer patterns of interest to me (since I am not a 20/30-something Vogue-model body). However, I decided to buy an issue last year for an interesting technique article on cabling. THEN, 3 days later, it shows up for free on the KD newsletter. This was after weeks of useless newsletters. SO, I also unsubscribed from the email n/l AND just recently even removed the RSS feed. It’s a shame. I used to love the magazine AND the KD website, but no more.

  2. Excellent suggestion. Right now the IK e-mails are running neck and neck with Kohls.com (clothing store). Most get deleted within 5 seconds of seeing them. It’s a shame.

    Off to subscribe to the RSS.

Comments are closed.